Halloween Caching

Sometimes, things just get in the way of your caching.  It really stinks when it happens on a nice day when you have plenty of time to go out too.  On Halloween day, this happened to me.  It started like any normal day off.I woke up and had some breakfast.  With the tv running, I went to see if my PQ’s had downloaded yet and began deciding where I wanted to go.  The plan was to hit Pleasant Hill, then Harrisonville.  I had time.  That was when the problem developed.  My lower back seemed a bit odd.  Deciding to do some stretching didn’t help and only seemed to upset it more.  But, it wasn’t too bad so I hit the road.

I made it to Pleasant Hill and went after the first one, which was a short walk in the woods.  By the time I got back to my car, I realized that this was going to be an interesting day.  A few caches later, I hit two that required a short hike on a trail.  That did it for me.  Getting back to my car, I realized that it was taking longer than normal to do a cache because I had to walk slowly and carefully.  I was developing enough pain to kill any mood and getting in and out of the car was a chore upon itself.  So I decided to head home.

At one of the caches, I picked up a Fallen Heroes geocoin.  There was one war memorial in Pleasant Hill and it had a cache called Defenders of Freedom. It was on my way out of town, so I figured I would make a small detour and go after it to get a picture of the coin there. The cache wasn’t too hard, thankfully, and it was located at a nice little memorial site.  I sat down on a nearby bench after placing the coin on the memorial and began taking photos.  The coin is the small square near the base of the memorial, and if you look carefully, you can see the reflection of me taking the photo.  When I was done, I packed it up and hit the road for good.

Today, two days later, my back still is sore enough that walking around and bending over to grab items still produces a bit of pain, so going back to clear those two towns will have to wait.  Maybe next weekend I can try them.  Maybe my back will be more up to it after work this week.  We’ll see.

Sometimes, you just can’t avoid the interuptions.  I’m guessing I just slept in the wrong position.  Oh well.  I got five caches and picked up a cool coin.  Now, to plan for the WWFM event I’m hosting on Saturday.

TripCyclone

This entry was posted in Geocaching. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

