I’m an EarthCache Master…sort of.

About a week ago, I happened across the site that handles Earthcaches.  For those who aren’t familiar with that phrase, it refers to a style of cache that focuses on education about geological sites.  Not as commonly seen, they are actually approved by the Geological Society of America before they are allowed as a geocache.  And they happen to have awards too.The Geological Society offers an award through their site for geocachers to earn based on their experience with Earthcaches.  Ranging from Bronze on up to Platinum, the award is a simple pin based on the color for your level.  Currently, I would be considered a Bronze Level Earthcache Master.  This means that I have found visited and logged three earthcaches in two or more states/countries.  I logged the three earthcaches I found in Wyoming and South Dakota to earn my award.

For the next level, a Silver Level Earthcache Master, I must find six or more earthcaches in 3 or more states/countries, alongside placing one earthcache.  I have five found, and this weekend I hope to add # 6 (and maybe # 7 too).  However, I’ll have to figure out where and how I am going to place one to be able to complete that step.

Gold requires finding 12 or more caches in four or mores states/countries, and placing two or more earthcaches.  Platinum requires finding 20 or more caches in five or more states/countries, and placing three or more earthcaches.

So what does the award look like?  Well, take a look:

Bronze Earthcache Master

To check out some more about Earthcaches, you can look at the Geocaching guidelines, or you can go to Earthcache.org. You can not only look up Earthcaches by state, but also find out information about the guidelines for placement and approval of your own Earthcache. After this weekend, I’ll be working on developing my own.

TripCyclone

This entry was posted in Geocaching. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m an EarthCache Master…sort of.

  1. ErikaJean says:

    Cool! I might have to look for some of these 😉

  2. Chris says:

    We’ve found a couple, looking to get that award from GS too. I love it they tend to take you well off the beaten path.

Leave a Reply

