Leaving MOGA

I suddenly realized that I had never finished my posts about my experiences at MOGA. So here goes the final report about the last day at MOGA. Included with this last post are some photos of where we stayed and the official MOGA 2009 coin (one of the coolest coins I’ve ever seen).

Sunday began relaxed, without the hustle and bustle that we had 24 hours earlier.  We still got up early in hopes to grab breakfast and then hit the road for caching our way home.  One thing changed overnight however.  We got snowed on.  It was kind of funny, getting snowed on in late March.  Combined with the downpour from the day before and the weather was just plain unique.

Scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, french toast…how can you go wrong.  Once again, JLondon let me have what she wasn’t hungry enough to eat.  With the little bit of refreshment, I got some more rest as she went to redo the Wherigo on her own and 8601 went off to socialize with some other cachers.  Waiting for her to get back, I had a laugh as one cacher walked up to me to see if I was okay.  She was concerned because I was sitting there with my head down.  She looked confused when I told her that I was just tired, at which she responded “Well, that makes sense too.”  LOL!

The following is a picture of the entrance to the dining hall, which had a MOGA banner hanging out front.  Notice the light layer of snow.  The grass had been covered with it when we went in for food.  When I took this picture as we left the snow on the grass had melted.  But not this little bit still on the picnic table out front.

MOGA Dining Hall

At this point, we all went back to the cabin to pack. Taking some time for myself, I captured some images of the lodging. Honestly, I was quite impressed with where we got to stay. While at first it may seem a bit small on the inside, it was quite a nice place to spend the weekend. Here is a shot from in front of the cabin. You can see the cars behind it on the right.

MOGA Cabin Panoramic

The cabin itself has two rooms. The main room has a table, chairs, a sofa-bed and basic kitchen appliances like microwave and fridge. The second room is a small bedroom with bed and chair. Here is a view from the front door:

MOGA Cabin Inside Door

If you move to the door to the spare room, seen on the left side of the image, you get a different view of the front of the cabin. Notice the ladder in this next image. That leads to the loft where I got the pleasure of sleeping. Not quite sure how I would like sleeping up there, I ended up sleeping better than expected. There is enough room that I didn’t bang my head on the ceiling either.

MOGA Cabin Inside Loft

Of course, I can’t leave the place without a photo of myself somewhere right? So 8601 helped me out by taking this photo of me behind the cabin. It’s hard to tell from the photo, but if you continue into the background of this image, you’ll realize that this little spot is elevated on a hill and the lake is beyond that. That made for an interesting view on itself, but I was too lazy to climb down for some shots of the water.

MOGA TripCyclone

I had one more photo of the area around the cabin to share. This one is of 8601. I liked how this photo came out, highlighting him while displaying JLondon in the background packing her car. We were all a bit tired at this point but ready for the drive home.

MOGA 8601Delphinium

At this point, we were off. The plan was to stop at a nearby TB Hotel to exchange the rest of the trackables we had in our possession. After doing that, we parted ways…or so we thought. As I sat there in my car making sure I knew my route back South, I realized that I had one virtual that I wanted to go get. It was a virtual about Mark Twain, who had been born in the area. Loading that up in my GPSr, I hit the road and made my way there. As I pulled up to the museum that houses the cabin he was born in, I realized that 8601 and JLondon had the same plan in place and beat me to the spot. We waved and I got out to get the info off of the nearby historical marker as they drove off.

Now, I had started to head back out of the park when I turned around. The marker wasn’t the location where Mark Twain was born and was actually up the road a bit. The town where he was born is called Florida and is quite a small community nestled right in the middle of this state park.  Thinking that I wanted to see the site for myself, I turned around and drove past the road to the museum and into Florida.  I quickly found the marker and got out to check it out.  Reading the sign, I learned that this little bit of land was the exact spot where the family cabin had been located that Mark Twain had been born in.  I took a picture of the marker before I hit the road.

Mark Twain Birthsite

The rest of the day involved working my say back to I-80, then back to KC. Grabbing caches along the way, I eventually worked my way up to 50 caches for the weekend. A few highlights included a stop at Graham Cave State Park out East of Columbia on I-80. A nice archeological site, the cave is nestled in the hills surrounded by trees. The park also has some nice campgrounds that I’ll have to try and visit someday.

I also made some stops for caches near Boonville, MO, where I visited a few historical sites. One cache was in a cemetery that had some REALLY old graves, including one grave of a Revolutionary War veteran. It’s fascinating the amount of history you can find in a place like that.

As I approached KC, I started to get tired and ready to rest in my own home. But, I wasn’t done yet. Reaching the last of the caches I had on my list, I found myself at a Westbound rest stop grabbing a cache by Mojedo, a Kansas City cacher. I came across a full log, so helping them out I added another sheet and a small baggie. But, I was only at 49 caches and I wanted to get one more. It’s a good thing I have the KC area database in my PDA as I searched for a quick cache on my way back into the city. Finding one, I loaded the coordinates and made my way home. It ended up being a quick find, making my total for the weekend at 50 caches. Time to get home.

The weekend ended up being a lot of fun despite the weather. I definitely will do it again. Plus, I had one more great surprise from the event…the geocoins. These coins are some of the coolest looking coins I’ve ever seen, and definitely take the cake at the top of my collection. Here, see for yourself:

MOGA Geocoins

Just in case the picture isn’t enough, here is what you are looking at. Remember that the theme for MOGA this year was Westerns. On the left is the full coin. But as you look at the center and right items you will notice that one is the gun and one is the holster. The tracking number is on the back of the holster, which is hollow and allows the gun to rest inside. There are two versions of the coin. One is a bronze version with ivory handles. The other is a silver version with ruby handles. You only get one with registration, but once I realized there were two different versions, I had to go purchase the other one. A two piece geocoin shaped like a Colt and holster. How cool is THAT?!?!

So, with that, I leave you be with jealousy in your mind over my two new coins. Maybe that will inspire a few people to come to MOGA next year?

TripCyclone

This entry was posted in Geocaching. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Leaving MOGA

  1. ErikaJean says:

    VERY cool coin! Sounds like you had an awesome time! The cabin looked very nice!

Leave a Reply

