Geocaching can be painful

Every once in a while, a cacher gets to see the painful side of geocaching…literally.  We slip, we fall, we run into thorns.  It never fails.  But sometimes, something catches you off guard and it REALLY hurts.Sometimes, you really lose track of all the things that happen to your body while geocaching.  Some stick out and are hard to forget.  Usually it’s the pain you can’t forget.  I once had a cache that resulted in me taking a clump of pine needles to the eye.  THAT was not only painful but eye wateringly painful.  Yet it is the events of yesterday that bring this article to you.

I was at an event yesterday with Jadefalcon and N2Froggie.  The event was a lot of fun and N2Froggie and I added A LOT of caches to our list.  One was a puzzle cache that required finding cards in other caches to use in building the final coordinates.  While searching for the final late in the day, I took particularly nasty thorn to the ankle.

Earlier, I happened to take a nice branch to the head, getting a small cut to my forehead.  I didn’t even realize I had the cut until well after it happened when someone mention the blood on my forehead.  The cut is pretty small, and didn’t produce a lot of blood, but is a nice reminder to always pay attention when you are leaning into a tree.

Country Cachin Forehead Cut

But it was another injury that will be the one that sticks in my mind for a long time.  It was early in the day and we were in Gardner, KS.  There happens to be a park that has three caches in close proximity.  Much to close, with two being about 50-75 feet apart…well under the .1 mile proximity guideline.  And no, they aren’t related or even by the same person.

It was those two that were close together where the injury happened.  There is one on each side of a man-made drainage channel.  We had just replaced the first one and were going to cross over to get the second one when I slipped and fell.  Now why did I fall?  It had rained the night before and there was the normal concrete slope that you find at drainage channels.  Turning, I stepped onto this concrete slope because I needed to go down and cross.  The slope was a bit slick for me when I stepped and I slipped.  My left hand went out to try and brace the fall.   It worked.  I avoided landing on my rear end.  My hand stung a bit from the hit but no big deal right?

WRONG!  I happened to lift my hand and went to wipe off the water when I noticed red on my thumb.  Looking closely, the stinging wasn’t from hitting my palm on the concrete but from slamming my thumb INTO the concrete.  My thumb was bleeding because when it hit, it scraped a bit and peeled back part of my thumb.  It HURT!  After a few more caches, we stopped at a Casey’s and I grabbed some superglue.  Later, I found bandages in a cache so I grabbed a few of those.  Take a look at what it looks like:

Country Cachin Thumb Injury

Over the course of the day, I scraped my thumb a few times and aggravated it. On at least one occasion, I hit it just right to reopen the wound. The funny thing about the whole situation…being able to walk away and say “I broke a nail.”

TripCyclone

This entry was posted in Geocaching. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Geocaching can be painful

  1. ErikaJean says:

    Ouch! hope your brains didn’t fall out of your head ;-P

    I will never forget pulling down my pants so my mom could pull cactus needles out of my butt/leg 😉

  2. Chris says:

    My most painful geocaching experience was the time I spend 10-15 minutes looking for a cache only to discover that I was in poison ivy. The worst case I ever had! I have the scars to prove it.

  3. HeadHardHat says:

    Ouch Trip,we are going to be able to swap geocaching war stories. I have a slight infection in my leg and my face and arms are well aquainted to briers.Someone once wrote to me if you are not bleeding you are not geocaching.

Leave a Reply

