Geowoodstock VIII

Geowoodstock

Many consider it to be the Mega-event of Mega-events.  A massive, day long event that had thousands of attendees in 2009.  Preparing for it’s eighth year, the event changes locations each year.  With Geocaching closing in on it’s 10th anniversary, the 2010 event will be held just outside Seattle.  I am planning on attending.  Are you?

Not only am I planning on attending, but my hopes are that I can fit in a week-long trip to the Seattle area for the event.  The event will be held on July 3rd, and you can go to GEOWOODSTOCK VIII for more information.  There are usually smaller events on either side of the official date, and I have an idea for one to host.  But I can’t do it alone…and it needs the assistance of Geocaching Bloggers to pull off.

There are plenty of geocachers out there who do some form of blogging about geocaching, whether in writing, in audio, or in video.  My idea is to have a sort of Meet & Greet event centered around Geocaching Bloggers.  If enough bloggers are interested in the idea, and plan on attending, we could easily have a few tables set up for either individual bloggers, or tables set up based on what medium is used.  And if we had enough people, maybe a small forum could be arranged to talk about our experiences with blogging.

Is this an idea worth pursuing?  Are there any bloggers, written, audio, or video, that would be interested in participating?  Post a comment on here, and feel free to provide a link to your own site.  If there’s enough interest from those planning on attending, we’ll start planning for an event.

This entry was posted in Geocaching. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Geowoodstock VIII

  1. Kris says:

    I wish I still had the chance to spend time around Seattle now that I’m crazy about geocaching. Unfortunately I no longer work for the company that used to send me out there a few times per year. Wish I could join! But I think you have a great idea about discussing social media outlets. What better way to learn what works, what people are interested in reading and also just meet the local bloggers face to face 🙂

    Kris

  2. ErikaJean says:

    I have a wedding smack dab in the middle of this and the on in Ohio. So frustrating. Wish I have enough $ for two vacations, also… the time.

  3. Katy Rose says:

    I am planning on attending Geowoodstock since I only live a few hundred miles from Seattle. I would love to meet other bloggers. I don’t do a lot of blogging but I try to every once in awhile.

  4. P.J. says:

    Trip — sounds like an awesome deal. I had wanted to go to GeoWoodstock this year something fierce. Alas, it came down to one major vacation this summer and Ireland won out, so I’ll be in Dublin the weekend GeoWoodstock is going on.

Leave a Reply

