2010 is over…time for a change

In the last half of 2010, I grew a bit tired of blogs.  I often just didn’t have the energy to really want to post anything. I know some came here to read about my adventures, and I am sorry that nothing appeared to be happening on here.  But, maybe I just needed that time to reevaluate my blog.

2010 was a busy year for geocaching.  While I ended up with a lower number of overall finds than 2009, a lot still happened.  Let’s look at a few of these things:

  • 1110 today finds
  • Attended Geowoodstock
  • Found the GeoTriad (Groundspeak HQ, Original Cache Plaque, Project APE)
  • Got robbed (well, car broken into)
  • One of the craziest summers I’ve had in a long time
  • Had two articles published in the new FTF Geocacher Magazine
  • Added Oregon, Washington, Idaho, & New Mexico to my list of cached states
  • Finished the Washington County Challenge
  • Visited the oldest active cache in the world, Mingo
  • Found caches in over 100 new counties (exact number unknown, but roughly 120…see map below)
  • Had at least three days of over 100 finds each.
  • Set a new record for # in one day (135) and one month (276). My solo best day still stands at 37 since 2007.
  • And got some pretty cool geocoins, including an Delorme Eartha 3D coin.

A map of the counties I've geocached in. # of finds increases from Red->Green->Blue

So you can see I’ve had quite a geocaching year.  But what about this change I’m talking about?  Well, if you’ve been to this blog before, you’ll likely notice that the site looks a bit different.  I’ve changed up the layout a bit and the header picture (taken in Washington this summer).  But that’s not the only planned change.

I am trying to expand a bit.  That means I would like to try posting about things other than just Geocaching.  For example, before Geocaching, Astronomy was a big part of my life.  So I’ll be posting about that occasionally.  Science is an important part of my life, as I teach it daily.  So science news might show up on here too.  I also take a lot of photos, and have a huge backlog of photos I still haven’t processed.  So I hope to occasionally post some photos on here as well.  Mostly, I’m trying to expand a bit to recapture some of my own interest in posting my thoughts.

One thing that has been a big part of my life, starting with my interest in astronomy, is public outreach.  I enjoy trying to help others understand something, particularly with science.  Too often I find the public view of science is often skewed.  Many kids and adults view science as something difficult and foreign, and sometimes un-fun.  It doesn’t have to be, and this view often results in the spread of misinformation.  So I like to try and show how science can not only be fun, but can be beneficial to present day topics.

So, I hope you like some of the changes.  Feel free to leave comments, questions, or alert me to some news if you want my thoughts.

This entry was posted in Geocaching. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2010 is over…time for a change

  1. SudsyMaggie says:

    I found that once I stopped restricting my blog to beer & homebrewing I blogged more. I got busy towards the end of the year and didn’t as much (but that’s always a good thing) but I hope to post at least one a month this year.

    Glad I got to be apart of some of your 2010 geoadventures! Hope to have more in 2011.

    Cheers,
    Maggie

  2. P.J. says:

    The thing about a personal blog is just that — make it about you and your life. The reality is, most blogs won’t get hundreds or thousands of followers unless you are in a certain niche. Therefore, just do it because you like it and friends and family will come, check it out, read and occasionally comment. And enjoy it!

  3. SudsyMaggie says:

    If this were Facebook, I’d ‘like’ P.J.’s comment.

  4. ErikaJean says:

    I look forward to reading a wider variety of posts! I must say, I love geocaching blogs… but lately I just find myself skimming them and moving on. It gets boring after a while 😉

    I wondered if you had changes coming, all of the sudden some of you 2008 posts came up on google reader. 😉

  5. tripcyclone says:

    P.J., that’s a good point. That’s my goal, to just be a place for my thoughts and observations. Comments are great, but not required. Outside of caching or personal thoughts, my goal with science posts is to show what I find to be interesting, fun science.

    Erika…I kind of got a bit bored with it too. I honestly haven’t looked at many people’s blogs unless I saw a title on Twitter that caught my eye…beyond yours and P.J.’s. I’ve occasionally checked out some of the photos you both put, and I’m watching my TB win the HooHaa race again so I have to keep up with that. 🙂

    That’s funny that some of my posts started popping up. If within the last 12 hours, it was definitely a result of me working with making changes to the site layout.

Leave a Reply

