Social Astronomy

At the 2011 Nebraska Star Party, I gave a presentation on the use of Social Networking and Internet Media as a means to enhance ones amateur astronomy experience.  The presentation seemed to have gone over well and I received some positive comments and further questions after the talk. Considering the volume of material presented on, including all of the sites I talked about, I planned on posting the presentation online so that attendees could access it and the names of the various sites discussed.  So here is the presentation:

There are a few details to bring up about viewing this presentation.  For anyone who saw this presentation live, you might notice some minor changes.  Due to the service used to host the presentation, I had to modify the background colors and change split a few slides up.  The service doesn’t handle animations well, so some slides with multiple photos had to be split into individual slides.

There are a lot of sites mentioned in this presentation.  I have provided a link for each one within the presentation.  You’ll find the links are in a red color and underlined.  If there is a site I mention that I forgot to provide a link to, please let me know.

Almost every slide of this presentation has speaker notes that go with them.  They were essentially my planned script.  However, you can not view them if you view this presentation via my blog.  In the lower left corner of the presentation, you’ll see a button that says “view on Slideshare”.  If you click on this button, it will take you to the very same presentation, but on the Slideshare site.  Underneath the presentation, there are two tabs: “XX Comments” and “Speaker Notes on Slide XX”.  Click on the Speaker Notes tab to view my notes as you peruse the presentation.  Be warned, all of the notes are scrunched into one paragraph instead of maintaining my original formatting.

If you have any questions about the presentation, or additional comments that you would like to add, please do so in the comment section below.

Enjoy,

TripCyclone

 

This entry was posted in Astronomy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Social Astronomy

  1. Janet says:

    Thanks for another magnificent post. Where else could anyone get that type of info in such a perfect way of writing? I have a preenstation next week, and I am on the look for such info.

Leave a Reply

