Bookmarks

As I researched for my presentation on social media, I came to understand and value the use of a site called Delicious. In a nutshell, Delicious is an online, social bookmarking system. Why worry about having to remember where a site is that you bookmarked on your home computer when you can access your bookmark list online from anywhere?

The site looks something like this.  You have a list of bookmarks in the main window.  But off to the right you can see a tag list.  Each link can be marked with various tags.  Click on one of the tags and the list will be filtered for that tag.  With the option to but as many tags as you want, this provides a better organization system.

But look at that last link, the one labeled “The Secret of the Fibonacci Sequence in Trees”.  Notice there is a description underneath.  You can add comments so that when looking at the list, you can remember what the site was about.

Your list can also be made public, allowing other internet users to view your list.  This is where the tags and comments can once again be a benefit.

Wait.  I mentioned a “Social” bookmarking site.  What does that mean?  Notice the links right under my name at the top.  The Network links allows you to add other Delicious Users to your “Network”.  After doing this, you can click on Network and see what links those people are adding.

The Subscriptions link?  It allows you to subscribe to particular tags and see any recently added bookmarks with that particular tag.  For example, you could see any recent additions marked with a “Geocaching” tag.

As you can see, this system has some wonderful potential for those who like to keep track of sites or pages that you find interesting.  Feel free to check out my bookmark list.  I’ve also added it to the “General” category of links listed to the right.

TripCyclone

This entry was posted in Resources. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bookmarks

  1. Geocaching with Tru2Cntry says:

    I like this, great idea, I will definitely try this too!

  2. {
    {I have|I’ve} been {surfing|browsing} online more than {three|3|2|4} hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. {It’s|It is} pretty
    worth enough for me. {In my opinion|Personally|In my
    view}, if all {webmasters|site owners|websi

Leave a Reply

