My First Geocoin

I finally purchased my first geocoin.  Having seen many, I wanted to find a design I liked and while at the 8th Annual Kansas City Picnic yesterday, I found a design I liked. I went with a Cache-O-Rator design, which cost me $20.

The Cache-O-Rator design is intricate on both sides.  The front is labeled “Acme Cache-O-Rator 2000” with a small colored meter underneath.  There are three metered dials labeled Hiking Distance, Elevation Change, and Search Time, with what looks like two Yes/No switches near the bottom.  It looks like:

The back side has a very detailed listing every D/T combination around the outer edge.  Increasing from 1/1 to 5/5, it surrounds colored sections ranging across the visible spectrum of colors.  Inside that are some questions surrounding the center, with the words “Terrain-Difficulty” above the centerpoint and the tracking number underneath.  Between the 1/1 and 5/5 is what looks like a clock hand extending out from the center.  It looks like:

At the moment, I plan on carrying with me to caches, dropping it into each cache I visit, starting with the picnic, which was my 800th find.  I’m not sure yet, but I’m debating whether to release it at the Kearney Picnic next month, or to hold on to it since it is my first coin.  We’ll see.

TripCyclone

This entry was posted in Geocaching. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First Geocoin

  1. P.J. says:

    That’s one awesome looking coin. Personally, I’d keep it if I were you! I’ve purchased several coins and traded for a couple of others. I keep all the coins I purchase and let others discover them. Just something about sending coins out there with the risk of people walking off with them. I’d rather send out the travel bugs and let them roam! Nice coin though!

  2. Larry739 says:

    I remember you buying that geocoin from me at the picnic and have your stories about losing it and getting it back. I hope you have it back in your hands now. I see you also are trying to find all the possible combinations of diff/terrain . That is a challenging goal.

Leave a comment